A Site for Artists and Art Lovers, Thinkers and Speakers

A Lesson in Art

  I have always wondered why we were made to endure hours of Art History whilst I was studying for my diploma. It always seemed like a waste of time to me. However, I now understand the benefits of studying others artwork. This weekend turned out to be quite productive. I managed to stay hangover free and get lots of sketchbook work and research done. I looked at lots of different artists work and studied their technique and I now have a better idea of where I want to go with my own artwork. Although I was technically researching Art Present rather than Art History, the reasoning is still the same.

 I’d quite like to share with you some of the artists I discovered. I’m sure you’ll find their techniques just as intriguing:

 

 

The only problem with developing new styles is your old artwork then appears somewhat redundant. I have been looking into exhibitions and competitions I want to put myself forward for, but now I feel my work isn’t worthy of recognition. I therefore have little time to create great masterpieces that showcase my work. There are a couple more techniques I need to trial, and then head down and back to the canvas.

Some new pages from my sketchbook:

 

   

2 responses

  1. Debbie B

    I always felt the same about art history untill I heard that the asian masters themselves studied and apprenticed under older masters by copying them stroke for stroke.

    Since the most notable artists are dead and the present ones are either overseas to me or feel threatened by someone in their studio directly copying their work I copy works from books and the Internet.

    I now have several ” van gogh” s on my walls I am very proud of and that others admire.

    January 10, 2012 at 17:47

    • Learn from the masters to create masterpieces 🙂

      January 11, 2012 at 12:07

Leave a Reply

